Tuesday, May 26, 2009

Whose Next To Be President?

Okay, we have now settled in to Obama being our president so whose next should something happen to keep him from performing in office? Well the Presidential Succession Act of 1947 plus amendments addresses that issue and the line of succession is established.

Of course everyone knows Joe Biden is 1st in line but what about after him? Well next is our Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi, the first woman to ever be second in line for president. Of the 18 established successors five are women which is probably a new record.

After Biden and Pelosi comes Robert Byrd, President pro tempore of the Senate and the oldest living member of the Senate at 92 years old.

Then comes Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton meaning two of the top four are women with one nonagenarian (Byrd) between them. I think two of the top four being women is also a first.

The fifth in line is our troubled Treasury Secretary Timothy Geithner. The rest of the list is as follows. As you can see, nothing better happen to President Obama.

Constitutional Order of Presidential Succession

1. Vice President & Speaker of the Senate Joe Biden
2. Speaker of the House of Representatives Nancy Pelosi
3. President pro tempore of the Senate Robert Byrd
4. Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton
5. Secretary of Treasury Timothy Geithner
6. Secretary of Defense Robert Gates
7. Attorney General Eric Holder
8. Secretary of Interior Ken Salazar
9. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack
10. Secretary of Commerce Gary Locke
11. Secretary of Labor Hilda Solis
12. Secretary of Health & Human Services Kathleen Sebelius
13. Secretary of Housing & Urban Development Shaun Donovan
14. Secretary of Transportation Ray LaHood
15. Secretary of Energy Steven Chu
16. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan
17. Secretary of Veterans Affairs Eric Shinseki

18. Secretary of Homeland Security Janet Napolitano

No comments: